About Us

Recycling has been a part of UNC Charlotte since 1990, when a group of student volunteers began collecting aluminum cans on campus. Over the years, the program has grown in number of staff and types of materials collected. The Recycling Program has received a variety of awards for innovative recycling practices, including Zero Waste Football and Construction/Demolition Recycling. Our team is made up of 17 staff members who administer hauling contracts, provide educational information, and collect recycling from more than 1,000 bins per week.  We are seen throughout campus wearing our signature green "UNC Charlotte Recycles" shirts. 

Recycling Department  - Office Staff 

Shannon Caveny-Cox
Shannon Caveny-Cox  - Recycling Coordinator
704.687.0604  sccaveny@uncc.edu

T.J. Woods
Recycling Technician Supervisor
704.687.5212  twoods22@uncc.edu

Kelly Freshcorn
Kelly Freshcorn - Recycling Program Associate
704.687.0607  kafreshc@uncc.edu

Steve Olson - Recycling Education Coordinator
704.687.8396  solson10@uncc.edu

 

Recycling Zones- Advanced Technicians

Annette Miller

Zone 1: Annette Miller
Atkins Annex, Barnard, Burson, Cameron, Denny, Foundation Building, Garinger, Kennedy, Macy, Prospector, Smith, Winningham, Hawthorn, Martin Hall, Greek Village

amill183@uncc.edu

Robert Cooke

Zone 2: Robert Cooke 
Cato, Cedar/Sycamore/Hickory, FM/PPS, FO/PATS, Fretwell, Friday, Greenhouse, Grounds Modulars, J Building, McEniry, Recycling Modulars, Student Health, Wallis Hall, Witherspoon Hall

rcooke7@uncc.edu

Robert Marrero

Zone 3: Robert Marrero
Alumni House, Colvard, Cone Center, Johnson Band Center, King, Niner House, Reese, Robinson Hall, Rowe Arts, Storrs, Phase V, Holshouser, Hunt Hall, Scott Hall, Laurel Hall 

rmarrero@uncc.edu

Luis Chalco

Zone 4: Luis Chalco
Atkins Library, Belk Gym, Bissell House, CHHS, College of Education, Memorial Hall, RUP 1, South Village Dining, Student Activities Center, Woodward, Moore Hall, Sanford Hall, Levine Hall 

lchalco@uncc.edu

Linda Roberts

Zone 5: Linda Roberts
EPIC, Belk Track and Field, Bioinformatics, CEEC, Duke, Football Complex, Grigg, Motorsports, PORTAL, RUP 2, Softball, Student Union, Tennis Courts, Wachovia Fieldhouse, Belk Hall, Lynch Hall, Miltimore Hall

lrober60@uncc.edu

Dot Munson

Zone 6: Dot Munson
Recycling Warehouse Manager

dvmunson@uncc.edu

We also have Recycling Technicians that rotate zones and move throughout the campus. 

Amir PattersonAmir Patterson
 

Sam Coleman - Recycling Tech
Sam Coleman
Tonya Day
Tonya Day 
Cody Hoyle - Recycling Tech
Cody Hoyle

Steven Smith 

Hnin Phyu

What can I recycle?Where can I recycle?Get Involved! Request a Service!